Java3D, the PickRay, and the PickCylinderRay

Today I was struggling to figure out why I could not highlight a line segment in Spheriosity. After much fiddling around I discovered that the problem only occurred when I was using a PickRay to select objects instead of my normal PickCanvas. For those that don’t know a PickCanvas is made to pick objects based on the x and y coordinates of the cursor and a PickRay has to be defined with a starting point and vector indicating its direction. I was a bit disappointed because I thought I had already solved this problem. The general problem here is: ‘How do I take the cursor location and select something in a Java3D BranchGroup?’

My final solution to this problem was to use a PickCylinderRay, which defines an infinite cylinder going in a defined direction from a defined starting point and with a defined radius. Switching to the PickCylinderRay actually solved more than one of my problems. Previously when I was using the PickCanvas I found it very difficult to select objects at times. Especially the line segments (LineStripArrays) . I know that you can set different tolerances to the PickCanvas but I was having a heck of a time getting that happy. The only problem I ran in to with the PickCylinderRay was that if the radius was too large it would pick objects that weren’t even close to the cursor. However, this makes sense 🙂 Here is what the code looks like to define the vector from the camera to the cursor:

public void getCameraToMouseVec(Canvas3D myCanvas, Point clickPos,
                                Point3d cameraPoint, Vector3d dir)
{
     Point3d mousePos = new Point3d();

     //Getting current mouse and camera locations
     myCanvas.getPixelLocationInImagePlate(clickPos.x, clickPos.y, mousePos);
     myCanvas.getCenterEyeInImagePlate(cameraPoint);

     //This block of code converts our image plate coordinates out to virtual world coordinates because
     //that's ultimately what we care about.
     Transform3D motion = new Transform3D();
     myCanvas.getImagePlateToVworld(motion);

     //We do this convertion for both the camera and for the mouse position.
     motion.transform(mousePos);
     motion.transform(cameraPoint);

     //Get the three components of the vector going from the camera location to the eye
     dir.x = (mousePos.x - cameraPoint.x);
     dir.y = (mousePos.y - cameraPoint.y);
     dir.z = (mousePos.z - cameraPoint.z);
}

So after this function completes the variables cameraPoint and dir will be set to the correct values to call .setShapeCylinderRay() of the PickTool class . Here is a sample of the code which takes the output of the previously displayed function and uses it to make a selection:

public void mousePressed(MouseEvent arg0) //Called be Java through MouseListener interface
{
     //In Spheriosity I actually declare these once for the class and reuse them
     Point3d tmpPoint = new Point3d();
     Vector3d tmpVec  = new Vector3d();

     //I assume that 'myMainBranchGroup' is a member of the class that this function is in
     //and is the BranchGrounp we want to be picking from.
     PickTool myPicker = new PickTool(myMainBranchGroup);

     //I also assume that 'myCanvas' is a member of this class
     getCameraToMouseVec(this.myCanvas, arg0.getPoint(), tmpPoint, tmpVec);

     //Use the data gathered from getCameraToMouseVec to make the PickCylinderRay
     myPicker.setShapeCylinderRay(tmpPoint, tmpVec, .1f);

     PickResult result = myPicker.pickClosest();

     ... code to handle what was selected ...
}

There you have it! That is how I solved my little problem with PickRays not working. I’m glad I stumbled upon the original problem because I truly think this solution works much better given the rest of the code base in Spheriosity.

There are a few things to note here. One is that the .1f in the .setShapeCylinderRay() function should be changed depending on your needs (it determines the radius of the cylinder). Lower values mean the cursor has to be closer to the object higher values mean the cursor can be further away. Also the output of the getCameraToMouseVec() function could also be used to define a PickRay if that is truly what you want.

Hopefully this was able to help one or two people trying to select things in Java3D. If not… well at least it serves as a bit of rationale for some of what I have done with Spheriosity 😀

Leave a Reply

