The Importance of White Space in Code

For almost as long as I have been writing code I have tried my best to improve upon my coding style. This is, of course, an area of much controversy among computer scientists. What makes “good” style? Sometimes its purely a matter of opinion. What I find easy to read might not be so easy for someone else. I suppose this is one reason you might argue that programmers should all try and adhere to similar styles. This way any code would be just as readable to anyone.

Almost every language I have ever used allows you to put in more white space than you need, and anywhere you want to. I find this to be quite a useful feature. Not because I think it allows me to write better algorithms, but because it helps me organize the code and suggest certain things to the reader. To some degree making readable code is very much an art [one that I do not claim to have mastered]. I think adding white space in blocks of code to segment it into different sections is good practice. Lets take the following C code for example. Keep in mind that this could be any language and the same concepts apply:

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
int main(int argv,char** argc)
{
  int x;
  int y;
  int sum;
  for(x=0;x<10;x++)
  {
    for(y=0;y<10;y++)
    {
      sum=x+y;
      sum=sum+x*x+y*y;
      printf("Random number is %d\n",sum);
      printf("yay for loops\n");
    }
  }
  exit(0);
}

Now, I will be the first to admit that this code is fairly random and doesn’t do anything of extreme usefulness, but that is not the point here. Notice this same program with a little extra white space added:

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

int main(int argv, char** argc)
{
  int x;
  int y;
  int sum;

  for(x = 0 ; x < 10; x++)
  {
    for(y = 0; y < 10; y++)
    {
      sum = x+y;
      sum = sum + x*x + y*y;

      printf("Random number is %d\n", sum);
      printf("yay for loops\n");
    }
  }

  exit(0);
}

To me, this now really pops out at you, and it is much easier to see the different “areas” of this code. You have the #includes which are separated from main. This lets you know when the real code begins and puts a break between the includes and the actual code. It suggests a change in context! The next place I added white space was between the arguments in the header to main. This allows the variables (argc and argv) to stick out more to the eye.

In the actual function I put a space after I declared all the variables. Again, I use the idea that with the return we will have a change of context going from variable definitions to more concrete code. In each for loop I separated the different parts of the loop constraints to make them a tad easier to read.

Within in the inner for loop I added the most space. First I separated the mathematical statements from the print statements. You may not always want to do this because sometimes you might group a print statement for a specific calculation with the rest of the calculation, it all depends on what you are trying to say. Next I separated the different parts of the second equation to bring out the more
interesting parts. Sometimes I will add parenthesis to really be explicit as to what I am trying to do, but this didn’t see to warrant that.

Finally at the end I separated the exit(0) from the end of the for loops because it is not really part of that block of code.

So there you have it. This is a bit of a trivial example, but I think it shows that a little white space can go a long way in bringing things out to a foreign reader. Remember, the new person who reads your code will be looking for any hints they can get as to its functionality. When you are writing the code you may not need the white space to understand what is going on. However, 6 months later it
could even help you figure out what was originally intended as well as the newcomer to the code base! There’s plenty of other tricks to help make code more readable: descriptive variables, good function names, good functional decomposition, etc. I just wanted to point out one area that I think can be easily overlooked 🙂

2 Responses to The Importance of White Space in Code

  1. Wes says:

    Who puts whitespace in their code! When I’m looking at your code on my 5-line Apple IIe screen I want to be able to fit as much on the screen as I can! It’s all about the one-line class definitions.

  2. jintoreedwine says:

    Yeah, I really love when people do this too:

    if ( condition ) {
    statement
    } else {
    statement 2
    }

    I’m surprised they have a version of Firefox for the Apple IIe.. I should look in to that 😛

Leave a Reply

