The Wikipedia Game

Yesterday I was spending some time with my friends and one of them mentioned “The Wikipedia Game”. I had never heard of this before but found it quite interesting. I will try to explain the game, but bare with me.

  1. One person needs to think of a topic. Typically one that is less common.
  2. Everyone playing must go to that page and take a quick look at it.
  3. Now everyone needs to click the random page button
  4. The first person who finds their way back to the topic wins! You are only allowed to use links within the articles themselves in order to do this 🙂 .

That is the entire game, but for some reason it is insanely addicting. The great thing is that all you need is a computer with a web browser, and 2 or more people to play. There is also a variation on this game where you try to get back to the original article using the least amount of links possible.

There is one downfall I might point out about this game. Once someone has an idea how to get to a really broad article on a topic it can become to easy. For instance, say you are finding an article for a video game. It is just about given that from any article you can get to a country. From there you can get to a list of countries. After that you can goto Japan, and then video games. Then from video games you can easily find your way to any video game related topic.

I think one way to make it more challenging would be to disallow the use of any “List of x” entires. You might want to only start playing it this way once you feel playing with the original rule set is to simple. I am rather glad I know about this game, and I hope I get the chance to play from time to time 🙂 .

That’s all for now. I might not have time to write anything in the next few days as I will be moving back to college. This also means I won’t really be coding, which is where I get a lot of the ideas for my entires.

One Response to The Wikipedia Game

  1. Christine says:

    This does sound like fun! I challenge you!

Leave a Reply

