Spheriosity and Ant Build Files

While I was on vacation a few weeks ago I decided that I wanted all of the code in Spheriosity to look pretty inside an 80 character emacs buffer. I started out coding it in Eclipse (reluctantly) because it was the only way I could get the Java3D stuff to compile and I didn’t have time to play around with getting it to work command line. I planned to still use Eclipse even after the 80 character conversion, but alas the code does not like right in Eclipse anymore. So I decided to bite the bullet and start coding in emacs again.

This meant that I had to have a way to build the code from the command line so, naturally, I turned to ant since that seems to be the ‘Java way’ to compile projects larger than Hello World. I have very mixed feelings about Ant which is most of the reason for my post. The XML configuration does not do much for me. I don’t like the way XML config files (especially the way Ant does it) look. They all seem to be too syntax heavy for what they are trying to do. Prior to using Ant I had used make, which now that I have used Ant, I like even more than I did before. The simplicity of make is enough in itself to make (no pun intended) me want to use it. I want this project to be open source, and easy to build so I needed to use Ant. After messing around with things I was able to get Ant to do what I want well enough, but it seemed a lot harder than it needed to be. Maybe it is just because I am not used to it *shrugs*

Another thing about Ant which upset me is how long it takes to simply start running a target. I have had it take up to a second or two just to run a target that deletes the built source code. I could have typed in the remove command in that amount of time (with the aid of tab completion). This may sound like a trivial matter… a few second here or there, what’s the big deal? Well, when I am testing either the build script itself or parts of the code those few seconds for each recompile or clean or whatever start to take up a substantial amount of time.

Maybe I am judging it prematurely. Only time will tell. I will continue to use it and perhaps it will grow on me 🙂 .

Leave a Reply

