College Time Again

In case it hasn’t been obvious from previous posts I am back at college and the semester officially started this past Monday. This means I am back to homework, projects, presentations, studying, tests, club meetings and events. In past years this transition from summer time to back-to-school time has not been so difficult. However I have noticed a trend over the years that each year when I come back there is more responsibility for me to take on the second I arrive on campus.

I don’t mind being responsible for things. In fact I view it as a necessary aspect of life. The part that sometimes startles me is going from having very little responsibilty to very much responsibility. I think it would have been better if there was a way for me to have a gradual transition between the summer and the school year. Fortunately this will be the last year this is an issue, at least with respect to college, because I will hopefully graduate at the end of the year 🙂 .

There are lots of great things about being at college. Such as being around the sorts of people that understand exactly what you are saying because they are studying the same things, or just the simple fact that you basically get to live with your friends. Sure, you can live in a neighbourhood close to your friends, but at college most of them are right next door or living with you. This is something I think I might miss once everything is over.

It still seems like a long year ahead of me, and I hope that I am just as ready and able to deal with the challenges of academia as ever. However, for the past 3 years I have noticed a steady increase in workload from year to year. I love a good challenge and I readily admit that I learn the most when I am being challenged. I also think that too much challenge simply creates stress, which then hinders the learning process. The balance between being properly challenged, and not getting overly stressed is quite difficult to maintain. Mostly because once you take on a certain level of responsibly it is easy to see how people depend upon you for certain things and it is hard to tell some one, or some organization that you will no longer be able to help.

I have always felt very strongly about honoring my commitments, and I hope to still be able to keep up with all of them this year. This is shaping up to be one of my toughest semesters of college yet. It is also my last year here, and I don’t want to lose touch with friends and family because of being overburdened with work. I think I am going to have to make a serious effort to cut down on the amount of work that I currently have by next semester. I don’t want my last semester of college to be a time where my schedule is so filled with work that I can’t take the time to hang out with friends or communicate with friends who have already graduated.

This entry is a bit different than my normal computer themed ones, but I haven’t been all too inspired to write about computers as of late. Mostly because I haven’t really been using them for things other than doing homework assignments and checking e-mail. I hope to write the next segment of my college wireless network situation soon. So stay posted to see the outcome of that. I may have other projects on the horizon as well because the fans in my computer PSU seem to be on their way out…

That’s all for now 🙂 .

Leave a Reply

