Homecoming @ College

As usual I have been filling up my queue with work (technically a priority queue) :). However I have a bit of free time to write something and this subject as been on my mind all weekend so I can think of no better time to write about it than now.

This weekend was another typical homecoming weekend at the particular college I attend. I’m trying not to mention any names (which I why I always say “my college”). Anyyway homecoming just seems to be another excuse for the typical college students to go out and get completely wasted. I doubt I have written about this before, but getting drunk really isn’t my sort of thing. I, personally, have never had a drink even though I am of legal drinking age. I don’t mind when people drink. However, I do have a problem with people going and getting completed smashed.

There is plenty of evidence to suggest that it is unhealthy, on many fronts, to go out and get so drunk. Not only is there a potential of damaging your brain, but I have heard a hangover isn’t exactly fun. On top of all of that it typically effects those around you which, in my opinion, is even more important than anything else. The people that have to deal with you when you are drunk take the biggest hit. Sure, it is not always a problem, but on a college campus where everyone lives together it often is.

I remember a particular instance where one of my friends came back quite late, and he was not doing well at all. He threw up constantly and all he could do was curse and moan. A pretty sad state if you ask me. None of that was as bad as what his roommate had to deal with. His roommate was working on some homework and he had to deal with the constant cursing and smell of vomit. I stayed up with his roommate that night because he was disappointed about the events. Whether that super drunk guy knew it or not his poor decisions effected both me and my suite mate. For the record I don’t hold any grudges against him, and after that one incident it never happened again.

Many students insist on doing this time and time again with little regard to the people they hurt along the way. This is where I find the biggest issue.

The other thing I don’t understand is why events like homecoming are such a large excuse for drinking. I asked a few people I am friendly with why they get so drunk and they all say “beccause its homecoming”. That is just about the only reason I get from them. Some of these are fairly logically minded people as well, and certainly they must know that saying “because its homecoming” is not really a valid reason. They may as well say “because I feel like it”. That would at least be more of an accurate statement.

The final problem I see is that the college tolerates the students behavior at homecoming events even after placing down policy saying it is not allowed. This just encourages the student to continue breaking the rules even more because their is no punishment for their poor actions. It would be better for them to have less rules and that the students run around like ninnies than to have the current rules and just not enforce them because it seems like they are simply turning their cheek to the problem.

Hopefully I can get back to blogging about computers andd whatnot soon, but I have been swamped with work, and a little while from now I am going to a Computer Science and Math conference that will suck up another weekend. I am thinking that maybe I can write a few things on the long car ride out there :).

2 Responses to Homecoming @ College

  1. Wes says:

    You need to write something new here. It has been a month.

  2. jintoreedwine says:

    Well I just made a post 🙂 . Once I finish this wave of projects I will have plenty to write about ^_^;

Leave a Reply

