Euler Project

As pointed out by Wes it has indeed been some time since I posted anything on this blog. About once a week it occurs to me that I would really enjoy writing about this or that, but I just haven’t had the time lately. Part of the reason is how long it actually takes me to get a post up. It typically takes me around 30 to 40 minutes to write something mildly interesting, and then another 10 or 20 to proof read it. It is not as if I couldn’t find that sort of time, but typically I only have it at night, and when I am tried I find it very hard to concentrate on what I am writing 🙂

In any case I want to write about Project Euler today. About a week ago my Professor introduced to to Project Euler. They have a list of computer science and math problems that they ask you to solve, and typically the problem involves you needing to have some sort of mathematical intuition as well as coding skill. One simply makes an account on their site and when you think you have a solution to the problem you submit your answer and the site tells you if you got the right answer or not. So far I have been working on the earlier problems in the list when time permits. For a lot of them I tend to hack together a solution in Python within 5 to 10 minutes. I have heard the later problems get harder, and I await the challenge. Project Euler meets the strange need to write random small computer programs that perform an operation which is “cool” to only a small group of people. I also like the mathematical challenges that some of the problems provide, and it gives me a good test of my problem solving skills, which I think are very important to any computer scientist. The other interesting part to these problems is that Project Euler guarantees that your program should find a solution in under one minute of run time. This adds an extra challenge because you can’t necessarily brute force the answer :).

While writing solutions to these problems I have noticed how much slower Python is than C in certain cases. I have read many different guides to optimizing Python code and applied optimizations everywhere I can, and still the C equivalent to my solutions  runs drastically faster. I am not suggesting that C is necessarily a better language or something. Certainly, one expects a compiled language to outperform a scripting language, but since I had never done any formal study before I found this quite interesting. I do enjoy the speed at which I can throw together the solutions in Python, and I’m glad I taught myself Python a year or two ago because I have used it many times since then.

Anyway, I have a lot more to write about, and have been keeping a list. Hopefully over Thanksgiving break I will be able to put in an entry or two. At the very least when this semester ends I will have plenty of time to write blog entries and plan to be more active during that time.

Leave a Reply

