Uninstalling Programs in Windows — Annoying?

I suppose this post could be filed under ‘Windows rant’ because I don’t have much good to say about it these days. I received a new computer game for Christmas so it was once again time to boot my computer to the dark side. While I was in Windows I decided that I would clean up my installation as it had probably been close to a year since I actually booted it. This consisted of crawling through the file system looking for orphaned folders from programs that were long gone, emptying the recycling bin, cleaning my downloads folder, and finally going through “Add/Remove Programs” and getting rid of stuff I didn’t care about.

The most frustrating thing about all of this was that some of the programs I had installed would automatically restart the dang machine without even asking first! I don’t think any Windows installer/uninstaller should ever do this. First of all, I don’t think half the programs that “require a restart” actually need a restart. Secondly, if they do, they should ask you for a confirmation. After all, the user is supposed to be “in control” of the computer and not the other way around.

While I’m on the subject of difficult uninstallations lets talk about Norton Anti-virus. I was recently asked to clean up a new laptop before it was being gifted to someone. The first thing I wanted to do was uninstall all the rubbish-ware that comes on a standard HP or Dell laptop. There is a nifty program called The PC-Decrapifier(PCD) which helps automate this task quite nicely. Basically, it calls all of the different uninstallers for you instead of making you click all of them from the Add/Remove Programs dialog. Now, when the PCD made its way to Norton the Norton uninstaller must have taken at least 15 minutes!! That is WAY to long for an uninstalltion. All you have to do is remove any running processes, and delete all the files. It’s like the Norton uninstaller takes a coffee break part way through. I think the Service Pack 3 installer took less time to run than the uninstaller for Norton anti-virus — ridiculous!

Back before I ran Linux I would accept most of these things as the only way, but when I uninstall software on a Gentoo or Ubuntu machine it rarely takes more than 10 seconds. Also, none of it requires me to reboot (with the exception of kernel related things). All around it is experiences like these which help me appreciate Linux even more so I suppose Windows irritating me from time to time isn’t all bad 🙂 .

Leave a Reply

