Video Game Music

It’s no secret, at least to those who know me personally, that I love listening to the music from video games. Now, I have my limits. If the game has terrible music then I simply don’t care to listen at all. Recently there has been some stunning work on video game sound tracks. The sound track to Mario Galaxy and Super Smash Brothers Brawl were absolutely breathtaking. The industry has come a long way in terms of audio. I still have a soft spot in my heart for those classic NES tunes, but I sure do like the way things have been improving.

There are even some games for the SNES that had rather amazing sound tracks. The obvious games there are Chrono Trigger, Final Fantasy III (Well VI actually, but released as III in America), and Secret of Mana. That is not to say there weren’t other SNES games with good sound tracks. In fact, there is an entire community of people who take video game tunes and remix them. The big place for that happens to be OCRemix.org and I have spent hours upon hours on that site. They truely have some talented remixers there. Here are a few good mixes, but certainly there are hundreds more that are quite amazing:

Beyond the realm of OCRemix we have video game cover bands (as if things couldn’t get any better) ! Some of these include: The Megas, Armcannon, The OneUps, Powerglove, and The Black Mages. All of the bands mentioned even have CDs you can purchase, or most of them have options where you can download the music (for a small price). For those of us that love the video game tunes it is truely a great time. Back when I was much younger there were none of these things and the closest thing I had to listening to video game music (other than playing the games) was a Mario Kart 64 Soundtrack that I found somewhere.

Whether it’s an OCRemix or a video game cover band these guys are taking the old 8-bit tunes and turning them into musical glory. This gamer in particular finds himself frequently amazed at what they can do.

In the future I plan to blog a little more about video game music as its one of my interests. I just haven’t had the time lately 🙂 .

2 Responses to Video Game Music

  1. specterr says:

    Nice post. I’m developing a video game and just posted about 8bit music today. Good stuff.

  2. gggrl says:

    Heeey there,
    My blog will be dedicated to just that, video game music! I’m an aspiring composer, check it out =)

Leave a Reply

