LaTeX Beamer Theme Previews

Update (09/07/2010): It was brought to my attention that the help message printed by beamerizer referenced \include instead of \input. I updated the the help message to now use \input which is the better choice. Thanks to ArkanoidX for pointing this out 🙂

I have been using LaTeX beamer for a little over a year now to do my “PowerPoint” like presentations for math and computer science classes. I really like beamer a lot and I find it easy to put together a nice looking presentation that is not bogged down in special effects and gimmicky animations. One of my main problems with beamer is that I never know what theme to pick because I never know what the themes look like ahead of time. This is what made me think that it would be nice to have a script that automatically builds my presentation with every possible theme and puts them in one giant pdf file.

It turns out that by using Python and some nice Linux tools it is fairly easy to achieve this. I call the little script I wrote “beamerizer” and it takes a directory of LaTeX themes and a LaTeX source file. Then, it builds that source file with every possible theme. It’s a pretty simple idea, but it gets the job done. I have also used this script to produce a nice sample document that was built using the standard LaTeX themes. Both the beamerizer script and that sample document are included in this post. Hopefully this will help someone out who needs to see all the different beamer themes 🙂 .

Beamerizer Python Script: beamerizer.tar.gz (requires that “gs” and “pdflatex” be installed)

Theme Preview File: BeamerThemePreview.pdf

(For those of you who are interested: all beamerizer really does is generate a pdf file for each theme and then use the “gs” command to concatenate all the pdf files together)

4 Responses to LaTeX Beamer Theme Previews

  1. freespace says:

    Thanks for this 😀

  2. Can you please tell me which theme is between Bodilla and CambridgeUS at pages 19, 20, 21? It is a very simple theme that I like, but it does not introduce itself. Thank you!

  3. ArkanoidX says:

    Excellent script, very useful. Only one detail, I think in the help should state \input instead of \include I had problems with getting the themefile.dat file working with include because it expects .tex extension.
    Thanks! HTH

  4. jintoreedwine says:

    Glad you find the script useful Arkanoid 🙂 .

    After looking into what you said about the difference between \input and \include I updated the help message in beamerizer to use \input and updated the download link accordingly.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

