I’m Leaving the Hosting up to WordPress

I recently put a post on the front page of my website stating that I have switched back to just having this blog on WordPress. The decision to do this was essentially dictated by hearing about a WordPress security vulnerability on the Security Now podcast of the TWiT network.

Now, certainly I am not so foolish as to think the WordPress platform can never have a vulnerability, but the problem is that I don’t always have time to sit down and make sure it is updated. My website is meant to be a window into my digital life that I can update from time to time, not something I have to spend hours a week maintaining.

That being said, I have made all the essential redirects and hopefully I haven’t broken too many RSS feed readers or bookmarks to my blog.

Originally, I setup my own WordPress blog thinking I would be all hip and have custom themes and be adding loads of cool plugins. The reality is, though, I didn’t need any of that and I didn’t have time to keep up with it. I’ll be able to get more done and write more if I just focus on the content of blog. It would have also been nice to bring traffic to my site, but that is also a moot point now and I’ll just provide a link to jintoreedwine.com for anyone interested.

Anyway, I don’t want this to sound like a slam on the WordPress platform. I really like WordPress and it has made blogging quite simple. Great job, guys!

Hopefully I’ll be writing more soonish … 🙂

Leave a Reply

